Young Life Experiences - Looking for both good and bad reactions...
Date: November 06, 2008 02:06AM

I just got back from a weekend as an adult guest for a Fall Weekend at a Young Life camp. I was impressed with the message, but concerned with the structure and/or tactics being used.

I am a graduate student, and after speaking with one of my instructors, we have decided this would make a good semester project, and she is looking into publication possibilities. Obviously, by looking for info in a web post, I realize I am not going to get names, and I am okay with that. I am looking for honest reactions which could point me in a direction. I am not sure what I think myself...I am in the process of talking to local leaders and such as well...but I am looking for other perspectives.

My questions are these:

1. What makes Young Life so successful compared to other youth ministries?
2. Do the ends justify the means - in other words, since the message is good and promotes "clean living", are some brainwashing tactics acceptable?3. When does an organization cross the line into a cult? Is it only when something horrendous happens like Jonestown or Waco?
4. Who is responsible for the fall out these kids are dealing with in repsonse to the questions and encouragement to "share their pain" with the leaders, with direct mention of rape, suicidal thought, abuse, etc?
5. What kind of system is set up to approve or question the ethics behind the structure of club, camp, etc?