Interested in acquiring material for education
Posted by: anthonypearson ()
Date: September 05, 2006 02:34PM

Please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Anthony Pearson and I am an artist and instructor at the University of California Riverside in the Department of Art.

I am posting tonight because I am interested in the study of aesthetics used in the promotion of a cult agenda. In examples some of the types of graphing excerpts from this informative Synanon website...

[www.synanon.org]

The type of imagery and visual content used by cults is of great interest to me.

I understand that this site is often used as a support group and a personal information based resource. My interest is in material (paper, books, flyers, pamphlets) that I can use in my research of this sort of visual and aesthetic language that I find to be very specific and powerful.

In my studies and work I am doing a great deal of research on this kind of material.

If anyone has a web resource I would be grateful.

More importantly I want to say that I am interested in acquiring any sort of vintage published material by cults or cult-like groups of any kind. My interest is in purchasing this kind of material for an archive I am assembling. Material from the 50's through 80's is very desirable to me.

Please keep in mind that mine is an academic and educational venture and any help is very much welcome.

I am based in Los Angeles and welcome any contact regarding this inquiry.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Anthony Pearson

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: jendavis ()
Date: September 06, 2006 11:42AM

From the years 1976 through 1983, I was the victim of a criminally destructive mind control cult - the Chuck Hawkins cult. This cult started out in Honolulu, later fled and lived on a coffee farm on the Kona Coast of the Big Island , and yet later fled to San Francisco.