Separation of Church and State: An American paradigm
Posted by: Yteep ()
Date: August 28, 2006 02:16AM

Has anyone checked out the website: [u:778db1e5a6]http://www.au.org/site/PageServer?pagename=advocacy[/u:778db1e5a6]
This topic is pretty interesting, seems there is some political activism against the Bush administration's faith-based initiative.

I was pretty surprised to learn about the "Inner Change Freedom
Initiative" - I gather that in our prisons inmates are being coerced into lay intervention programs based on AA: [u:778db1e5a6]http://66.102.7.104/u/americansunited?q=cache:zH9Gr_2xPHYJ:www.au.org/site/DocServer/luchenitser.pdf%3FdocID%3D185+alcoholics+anonymous&hl=en&gl=us&ct=clnk&cd=3&ie=UTF-8[/u:778db1e5a6]

I am a healthcare professional, and I am appalled that people with emotional disturbances would be shuttled into these "lay", ""faith-based" programs. It is my understanding that these programs discourage the people in need of their "help" from taking prescribed medications. Often people with these underlying substance abuse programs are better served by conventional medicine.

They have a couple of briefs posted: [u:778db1e5a6]http://66.102.7.104/u/americansunited?q=cache:2RZXK8BNa1sJ:www.au.org/site/DocServer/InnerChangeBrief.pdf%3FdocID%3D163+alcoholics+anonymous&hl=en&gl=us&ct=clnk&cd=1&ie=UTF-8[/u:778db1e5a6] and
>> [u:778db1e5a6]http://66.102.7.104/u/americansunited?q=cache:f1bFbln4zq0J:www.au.org/site/DocServer/Mapes.pdf%3FdocID%3D162+alcoholics+anonymous&hl=en&gl=us&ct=clnk&cd=2&ie=UTF-8[/u:778db1e5a6]

An interesting read also is a book I picked up several months ago "With God onTheir Side: George W. Bush and the Christian Right " by Esther Kaplan. I am seriously concerned that the US is going down the slippery slope into state religion. This must have the founding fathers spinning around in their graves.....

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: andychee ()
Date: August 28, 2006 11:26PM