Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Can Sport Go Too Far?
Posted by: scottpaschal ()
Date: March 14, 2006 11:01AM

Greetings, and thank you for reading, and hopefully responding, to this posting.

I would like like your thoughts and input concerning something I haven't seen written on this board, yet would be glad to gain your insight on. The subject at hand is Sport, and the influence and pressure it exerts on society.

My name is scott paschal. i am a small time tennis coach and even smaller time preacher.

Recently, I have began coaching a top pro tennis player. This may sound interesting and exciting to some, but, in this case, it is not. This young lady has had it rough, really rough. Her entire life has revolved around sport, tenni.s specifically.

When she came to train with me she was suicidal and I was extremely worried for her, and felt underequipped to properly care for her. Sport had ruined many aspects of her life.

A question I have for you is, "Is Sport a form of Coercive Persuasion and Undue Influence? Can a sport go too far in forcing or coercing young kids/adults into following its mantra?"

I, personally, was raised in Texas where football was king. I played football from elementary school through highschool and into college. I played because it was the cool thing to do. From my experience in over 10 years of football I certainly learned many positives. Yet, to this day my body hurts as I am forced to live with the effects of bashing my body in sport.

If football had not been "the thing" guys had to do, I would, most likely, not have played. The pressure to play was very strong. Once on the team, the pressure to perform was very strong. In some ways, what I am reading on this forum sounds so much like Sport.

What do you think?