School of Practical Philosophy - New York City - 79th St & Madison
Posted by: mcwinslow ()
Date: July 01, 2009 04:15AM

Most of the posts do not talk much about the New York City School so I'm here to post some information and am willing to answer any questions regarding the school. I am not an authority nor do I represent anyone at the school. These are my opinions and observations no one elses.

I wanted to post because I've been attending the school for about 4 years and some things I've read on the net are true about the school and some are not.

Is the school a cult? I don't think so however I'm always doing research and looking for signs while I attend the school.

Are there things I don't like about the school? Sure.

However I take the attitude "take what you like and leave the rest".

Some of the ideas they present are dated and may not be relevant today however again from the first class they say try these ideas out and see what works for you. If after trying it you don't agree or it has no relevance to your life then forget it.

For example a simple tool was "what would a wise man/woman do here?" so when you have a decision to make and feel indecisive Plato suggests to fall still and ask what would a wise man or woman do here? Plato said the wisdom is already there one just needs to make themselves available to it. I've tried it and it was helpful at times.

I've skipped terms and no one called me or tracked me down and asked why.

I'd love to start a discussion about this if anyone is interested.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: School of Practical Philosophy - New York City - 79th St & Madison
Posted by: corboy ()
Date: July 06, 2009 10:25PM

Information about this same group in Ireland--they go by a slightly different name.

Several articles--read'em.

[dialogueireland.wordpress.com]

Earlier articles about this group (known in the UK as School of Economic Science and in the US as School of Practical Philosophy)

[forum.culteducation.com]